So much to do, so little time!

I need more time in the day...

So it's been a while since I posted my first blog. I really do intend to keep posting updates on a more regular basis, but time has a way of catching you out!!!

And time is something that has been on my mind of late, or the apparent lack of it as the case continually seems! In my first blog, I mentioned that I am in my final year of Open University, and I am doing this whilst working full-time as well. As much as I would love to dedicate more time to studying, life is life and bills won't just pay themselves, so I work full time 8.30 - 5.00 Monday to Friday!

After work, it's time for food and then right into studying. And whilst my major project is taking up a lot of my time, I am also having to work on a machine learning module at the same time. Juggling both is a challenge but manageable for now. So what exactly is the issue you might ask?

Well on top of that, I am trying to design and build my portfolio website and keep on top of the React course I am learning on Udemy. Originally I did not plan to work on the portfolio website until after I had finished University, but I also happen to be applying for jobs and its become apparent that having a portfolio website and a place to display my projects is going to be key. Add to that I have spent the last few weeks improving my CV and covering letters and working on job applications..........


Dealing with disappointment

Which brings me to the next part. Dealing with disappointments. I got my result back for the first draft of my final project. I spent a lot of time working on it and my result was not what I was hoping for. Sure, it's not the end of the world and the result only makes up 5% of the final score, but putting all that effort in to not get the result you hoped for can be a blow.

I also applied for my first job! I had seen the advert for it and thought it was something I would enjoy doing so I spent a lot of time applying for the job and going through the digital assessments only to be declined :(

Don't get me wrong, rejections are always going to be part of the job application process, but it's not something I am used to dealing with and it's frustrating since they won't give feedback on why I was rejected. So, nothing else for it but to dust myself off and keep on going!

It would be interesting to know how others deal with the disappointment of job refusals and pick themselves up. Let me know in the comments if you have any thoughts on this!


Time....

This brings me back to my original thoughts...time and the lack of it. I feel like I have so much to do, so much to learn and not enough time in the day to fit everything in! Maybe I am being too harsh on myself, but I feel like there is an internal clock pushing me to try and get everything done as quickly as I can and I am wondering where this feeling has come from of late. Is it because I like learning and pushing myself? Sure. Is it because I feel under pressure because of my age and knowing I am competing against others with more experience and time to play with? Absolutely.

Anyways, time to get back to learning. Now, if only I could find a way to stop time or go back in time....